Good Reasons Not to Declaw Your Cats


Hi! Many people believe that declawing is very wrong, but some people can’t get that straight. Here are some reasons NOT to declaw:

*Declawing can make your cat have pains in their paws when they bury litter, and it might cause them to start going on the floor!

*If someone declawed you, than your forefingers would all be gone! If you don’t want someone to “declaw” you, than why do it to your cats?

*When your your cat is trying to defend it’s self from you (for example, when you’re holding him/her, and he/she wants to get down) , she/he would probably just give you a small scratch, but without claws, he/she might give you a hard, deep, bite.

*Your cat cannot defend its self from other animals without claws.

*Cats have a harder time playing with cat toys without claws.

*And besides, who would want to get part of their cat’s paw cut off? It’s so mean!

Thanks for reading and hope that this helps!

I’ll write more soon!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 02:11:32

    My cats are declawed, but one was found this way, the other I had declwed. Sorry for that. People just leave pets go free after renting in the city, and they end up dead or badly injured if declawed. It was lucky I took the one in.

    Reply

    • lovablekitties
      Jun 25, 2012 @ 13:55:20

      Hi! Thanks for the comment! I really appreciate it!

      I have five cats and one of them is declawed, but her previous owner did it. I think that she had it done when she was a very young kitten.

      Hope that you liked my post and thanks again for the comment!

      Reply

      • Garden Walk Garden Talk
        Jun 25, 2012 @ 13:58:56

        Yes, I did like your post. Cats are interesting creatures. I am a dog person and my husband is the cat person, but it was me who rescued them and brought them into our home. The one cat was my Akita’s best friend. He was sad when the Akita died.

Leave a Reply

